Home / Testimonials / Lawrence Symposium Program

Lawrence Symposium Program

McCormick Resort Conference Center, Scottsdale

Now showing photo 1, Hotel Exterior

Sunday February 21st, 7:00-9:00 PM Registration and Welcoming Wine Reception

Monday February 22nd, 8:00 AM- 5:30 PM
Morning Session Chair: Nate Newman, Arizona State University

Hosted Breakfast 8:00 – 9:00 AM served in meeting room

9:00-9:05 AM Welcome by Monte Lawrence
9:05–9:10 AM Opening remarks by Nate Newman
9:10-10:00 AM Lane W. Martin, Beyond Conventional Lattice Mismatch Epitaxy: Routes to Enhanced Functionality via Inhomogeneous Strain in Films, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
10:00 -10:40 AM J.M. Pomeroy, K.J. Dwyer, H.-S. Kim, A.N. Ramanayaka and K. Tang, Simultaneous enrichment and epitaxial deposition of 28Si films, National Institute of Standards and Technology, NIST and University of Maryland, Joint Quantum Institute (JQI)

Break: 10:40-11:20 AM

11:20–12:00 AM David Shahin and A. Christou, Control of Surfaces and Interfaces for Achieving Vertically Integrated Power Electronics, Univ of Maryland

Hosted Lunch 12:00––1:30 PM
Afternoon Session Chair: John Venables, Arizona State University

1:30-2:00 PM E.C. Young, B.P. Yonkee, F. Wu, J.T. Leonard, S.P. DenBaars, S. Nakamura, J. S. Speck, Hybrid MOCVD-MBE tunnel junction contacts for III-Nitride light emitting devices, U.C. Santa Barbara
2:00-2:30: PM Atsunori Tanaka, Renjie Chen, Shadi A. Dayeh, Beyond 10 μm Thick Crack-Free GaN Growth on Si for High Power Device Applications, University of California, San Diego
2:30-3:00 PM A.P. Lange, X. Xin, C. Fadley, S. Mahajan, Aluminum predose layers and AlN on silicon(111) epitaxy, University of California, Davis and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Break: 3:00-3:30 PM

3:30-4:20 PM April Brown, In situ diagnostics of III-N growth, Duke University
4:20-5:10 PM Akihiko Yoshikawa, Kazuhide Kusakabe, Ke Wang1, and Daichi Imai1, Systematic Study on Dynamic Atomic Layer Epitaxy (D-ALEp) of InN on/in GaN Matrix and Its Application for Fabricating Ordered Alloys in Whole III-N system, Chiba University and Kogakuin University, Japan

5:10-5:30 PM Introduction & then three minute rapid-fire presentations by our industrial sponsors
Dinner on your own.

Tuesday February 23rd, 8:00 AM- 5:20 PM, Banquet 6:30- 8:30 PM
Morning Session Chair: Jim Huffman, Lawrence Semiconductor Research Laboratory

Hosted Breakfast 8:00 – 9:00 AM served in meeting room

9:00-9:50 AM Oscar Dubon, Real-time observation of graphene growth: implications to 2D epitaxy, University of California, Berkeley
9: 50-10:40 AM Jiwoong Park, Developments in 2D materials and heterostructures for atomically thin circuitry, Cornell University

Break: 10:40 – 11:00 AM

11:00-11:50 AM Sefaatin Tongay, Engineering defects in 2D semiconductor quantum membranes for improved functionalities, Arizona State University

Hosted Lunch 11:50–– 1:30 PM
Afternoon Session Chair: Oscar Dubon, University of California, Berkeley

1:30-2:10 PM Peter Voorhees, Quantum dot formation in core shell nanowires, Northwestern University
2:10-2:40 PM Preston T. Webster, Arvind J. Shalindar, Nathaniel A. Riordan, Chaturvedi Gogineni, and Shane R. Johnson, InAsBi optical properties and utility in longwave infrared superlattices, Arizona State University

Break 2:40- 3:10 PM

3:10-3:40 PM Emily L. Warren, W. E. McMahon, J. D. Zimmerman, Adele C. Tamboli, Heteroepitaxy of GaP and GaAs on Si by OMVPE using controlled surface preparation and selective area growth, National Renewable Energy Laboratory and Colorado School of Mines
3:40 – 4:30 PM Richard King, Materials choices for a multijunction flatplate solar cell, Arizona State University
4:30-5:20 PM Karl Knieriem, Process Constraints Involving GaN-on-Si, Toshiba

Hosted Banquet 6:30- 8:30 PM Guest speaker
Wednesday February 24th, 8:00 AM-12:10 PM
Morning Session Chair: Mac Robinson, Lawrence Semiconductor Research Laboratory

Hosted Breakfast 8:00 – 9:00 AM served in meeting room

9:00–9:50 AM Jerry Woodall, Solar Energy Conversion and Storage Projects at U.C. Davis, University of California, Davis
9:50-10:40 AM J.L. MacManus-Driscoll, Nanocomposite epitaxial oxide thin films: a new way to achieve radical property enhancements in functional materials, University of Cambridge

Break 10:40-11:10 AM

11:10 -11:40 AM Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Cesar Rodriguez, Jaime Moya, Stefan Zollner, Nalin Fernando, Sudeshna Chattopadhyay, Patrick Ponath, Kristy J. Kormondy, A.A.Demkov, Structural and Optical Properties of SrTiO3 on Different Substrates, New Mexico State University, Indian Institute of Technology Indore, and University of Texas at Austin
11:40–12:10 PM Preston T. Webster, Arvind J. Shalindar, Yong-Hang Zhang, and Shane R. Johnson, Influence of Bi as surfactant on the unintentional incorporation of Sb in InAs during the MBE growth of InAs/InAsSb superlattices, Arizona State University

12:10 PM Closing remarks by Nate Newman, Close of Symposium

Hosted Box lunch served 12:10 PM

Leave a Reply